Drunk Driving Accident Lawyers Owensville, MO
Call 817-51-HKLAW for a Free Consultation and Case Evaluation.
Drunk Driving Accident Lawyers in Owensville, MO. We all have a duty to each other to observe the rules of the road and keep each other safe. When another driver drives drunk, they're making an incredibly self-centered and thoughtless choice. If you or a family member was injured as a result of that decision, you deserve to pursue justice through a financial recovery. Auto crashes and the subsequent injuries are always unanticipated, and the financial repercussions from medical expenses and lost wages are sudden and profound. Halvorsen Klote's Owensville, MO drunk driving accident lawyers have pledged their lives to giving the injured and vulnerable in Missouri and Southern Illinois the same high quality legal advocacy that large corporations have. If you were injured because another person made the dreadful decision to drive drunk, call HK Law today at 866-382-4167 or contact us online.
Drunk Driving Statistics | Owensville, MO Drunk Driving Accident Lawyers
Although drunk driving deaths have diminished by almost half since 1982, there are still much too many people on the Owensville, MO roads who put others in danger by drinking and driving. When they do and end up injuring you, the Owensville, MO drunk driving accident lawyers of Halvorsen Klote will stand by your side and make certain they are held responsible and you are awarded the full financial recovery you need to heal.
According to data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 28 people are killed each day in drunk driving wrecks, which adds up to one fatality every 52 minutes, and more than 10,000 people a year. According to data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, in both Illinois and Missouri, 2.2 percent of drivers acknowledged driving after having too much to drink within the previous 30 days. The yearly cost associated with drunk driving accidents nationwide amounts to over $44 billion.
The Missouri Traffic Safety Compendium reports that in 2021 alcohol and drug impaired driving was a factor in 4,027 auto accident injuries and 287 deaths, 8 percent and 28 percent of the state's total auto accident injuries and deaths, respectively.
The Illinois 2020 Crash Facts reports that almost 20 percent of the 1,088 fatal collisions in the state could be contributed to alcohol. Of 448 drivers who perished and were tested for alcohol, 37.1 percent tested positive.
If you've been harmed by a drunk driver in Owensville, MO, call HK Law's drunk driving accident lawyers today at 817-51-HKLAW.
What Are the Drunk Driving Laws and Penalties in My State? | Owensville, MO Drunk Driving Accident Lawyers
In both Missouri and Illinois, it is against the law for somebody to drive or be in ”actual physical control” of a motor vehicle:
- With a BAC of more than .08
- While under the influence of alcohol
- While under the influence of alcoholand/or illegal substances to an extent that makes the person incapable of driving safely
The two states differ somewhat in terms of penalties:
- First offense: Up to half a year in jail, fines not exceeding $1,000, a license revocation of 30 days and the chance of having an ignition-blocking breathalyzer placed on your vehicle.
- Second offense: Up to 1 year in jail, fine not exceeding $2,000, a license revocation of 1 year and an ignition-blocking breathalyzer placed in your car for a minimum of 6 months.
- Third offense: Up to 4 years in jail, fine up to $10,000, a license revocation of 10 years and the the ignition interlock device placed on your vehicle for at least 6 months.
- First offense: Up to 1 year in jail, fines up to $2,500 and a license revocation of 1 year.
- Second offense: A range of 5 to 364 days in prison, fines not exceeding $2,500 and a license revocation of 5 years.
- Third offense: A range of 10 days to 7 years in prison, fines up to $25,000 and a license revocation of 10 years.
While it may be encouraging that there are harsh consequences for drunk drivers, it doesn't help you get compensation for your injuries. Sometimes, drunk drivers can avoid a criminal conviction or plead guilty to a less serious charge. The Owensville, MO drunk driving accident lawyers of Halvorsen Klote will still be able to hold them liable in your civil case and get you a full financial recovery for your damages.
Below are some helpful links and FAQs from your HK Law Drunk Driver Accident Lawyers in Owensville, MO:
- Ultimate Guide to Missouri Drunk Driving Accident Laws
- Who Is Liable in a Drunk Driving Accident?
- Can I Sue if My Loved One Was Killed by a Drunk Driver?
- Damages for Victims of Drunk Driving Accidents
- Can I Sue if I Was Hit by a Drunk Driver?
- What Do I Do if I'm Injured by a Drunk Driver?
Who is Liable for My Injuries? | Owensville, MO Drunk Driving Accident Lawyers
While a drunk driver is obviously to blame for your damages according to the negligence per se doctrine, there might be other people who are liable. Missouri and Illinois each have what we call dram shop laws, through which your drunk driving accident lawyers can assist you in holding a restaurant, or other licensed alcohol vendor accountable. Again, the laws are a little different in each state:
Under Missouri Revised Statute §537.053, your drunk driving accident lawyers must prove two things in order to win a dram shop case:
- If the drunk driver was "visibly intoxicated," which means they showed:
- Extreme uncoordinated physical action
- Substantial physical dysfunction
Revised Statute §537.053 also stipulates that a blood alcohol content of more than .08% by itself is not prima facie, or lawfully adequate to prove liability. You and your drunk driving accident lawyers need to show the bar or restaurant and their employees saw physical impairment, such as:
- Slurred speech
- Dropping their drink
- Knocking other people over
- Considerably impaired motor movements
Illinois's Dram Shop Law is irregular in that the person who caused you injury did not need to be "visibly intoxicated" in order for a bar to be responsible. 235 ILCS 5/6-21, the Illinois Liquor Control Act, allows someone hurt by a drunk driver to bring a claim against a licensed liquor vendor if:
- A vendor-patron relationship was established, meaning you can show that the bought alcohol at that specific bar.
- You can show that the alcohol sold by the bar or restaurant was a factor the drunk driver's drunkenness.
- You can demonstrate that the driver's drunkenness was the proximate cause of your injuries.
Each year, the Illinois Office of Comptroller is required to set liability caps for Dram Shop cases. As of January 20, 2022 those limits are:
- $77,787.30 for each person incurring damages
- $95,073.37 per individual when an injury or death caused either loss of support or loss of society.
What Compensation Can I Collect? | Owensville, MO Drunk Driving Accident Lawyers
The financial recovery you collect will be based on the seriousness of your injuries and the skill of your drunk driving accident lawyers. When you hire Halvorsen Klote, we'll fight to get you a great financial recovery for:
Economic damages, including:
- Lost wages for time spent off work recovering
- Lost earning capacity if your injuries cause a disability that disallows you from carrying out the tasks of your job anymore
- Medical costs, including
- Emergency room bills
- Follow up doctors appointments
- Physical therapy
- In-home medical care
- Assistive devices such as crutches or needed upgrades to your vehicle
- Future estimated medical expenses, such as further physical therapy or medication, or replacement costs for assistive devices or joint replacements
- Transportation costs to and from medical appointments
- Property damage, such as damage to your car
Noneconomic damages, for example:
- Pain and suffering
- Mental anguish
- Physical impairment
- Loss of capacity to enjoy life
- Loss of consortium
The Owensville, MO drunk driving accident lawyers of Halvorsen Klote have the experience, tenacity, and legal knowledge necessary to deliver you the full financial recovery that you are owed.
Other cases we take in Owensville, MO are:
- Fatal Car Accident Lawyer
- Auto Accident Attorney
- Bike Wreck Lawyer
- What to Do After a Car Accident
- Premises Liability Attorneys
- Automobile Injury Attorney
- Motorcycle Accidents Attorney
- Lawyer for Bicycle Accident
- Pedestrian Accident Lawyer
- Injury Claim Lawyer
Call HK Law Today
Owensville, MO Drunk Driving Accident Lawyers | Halvorsen Klote
You should not have to pay because another person made a selfish decision, and you do not have to navigate this difficult time alone. The Owensville, MO drunk driving accident lawyers of Halvorsen Klote are compassionate, talented, and experienced in holding drunk drivers liable in Owensville, MO for their careless actions. We keep you informed throughout the whole legal process, and give you every piece of information you require to make the best decision for you and your family. Call the Owensville, MO drunk driving accident lawyers of HK Law today at 866-382-4167 or contact us online.