Drunk Driving Accident Lawyers St. Louis County, MO
Call 817-51-HKLAW for a Free Consultation and Case Review.
Drunk Driving Accident Lawyers in St. Louis County, MO. We all owe it to other people to respect the rules of the road and keep each other safe. When another person gets behind the wheel when they're drunk, they're making an incredibly selfish and irresponsible choice. If you or a loved one was injured as a result of that decision, you deserve to seek justice in the form of a financial recovery. Car crashes and the injuries that accompany them are always unforeseen, and the financial effects from medical bills and lost wages are instantaneous and profound. Halvorsen Klote's St. Louis County, MO drunk driving accident lawyers have committed their lives to offering the injured and vulnerable in Missouri and Southern Illinois the same high standard of legal representation that large corporations have. If you were injured because another person made the terrible decision to drive drunk, call HK Law today at 866-382-4167 or contact us online.
Drunk Driving Statistics | St. Louis County, MO Drunk Driving Accident Lawyers
While drunk driving fatalities have diminished 45 percent since 1982, there are still far too many people on the St. Louis County, MO roads who jeopardize others by getting behind the wheel drunk. When they do and harm you, the St. Louis County, MO drunk driving accident lawyers of Halvorsen Klote will fight on your behalf to ensure they are held responsible and you get the best possible compensation you need to be made whole again.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 28 people die every day in drunk driving wrecks, which adds up to one fatality every 52 minutes, and more than 10,000 people a year. According to reporting from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, in both Illinois and Missouri, 2.2 percent of drivers confessed driving after having too much to drink in the last month. The yearly cost of drunk driving accidents nationwide adds up to over $44 billion.
The Missouri Traffic Safety Compendium found that in 2021 alcohol and drug impaired driving was a factor in 4,027 car accident injuries and 287 deaths, 8 percent and 28 percent of the state's total auto crash injuries and fatalities, respectively.
The Illinois 2020 Crash Facts found that almost 20 percent of the 1,088 fatal collisions in the state involved alcohol. Of 448 drivers who perished and were tested for alcohol, 37.1 percent tested positive.
If you've been harmed because another person drove drunk in St. Louis County, MO, call HK Law's drunk driving accident lawyers today at 817-51-HKLAW.
What Are the Drunk Driving Laws and Penalties in My State? | St. Louis County, MO Drunk Driving Accident Lawyers
In both Missouri and Illinois, it is unlawful for somebody to drive or be in ”actual physical control” of a motor vehicle:
- With a blood alcohol concentration of more than .08
- While impaired by alcohol
- While impaired by alcoholand/or illegal substances to an extent that renders the person incapable of driving safely
The two states differ somewhat in terms of consequences:
- First offense: Up to half a year in jail, fines up to $1,000, a license revocation of 30 days and potentially having an ignition-blocking breathalyzer placed on your vehicle.
- Second offense: Up to 1 year in jail, fine of up to $2,000, a license revocation of 1 year and the ignition interlock device placed in your car for at least 6 months.
- Third offense: Up to 4 years in jail, fine no greater than $10,000, a license revocation for a decade and the an ignition-blocking breathalyzer placed on your vehicle for at least 6 months.
- First offense: Up to 1 year in jail, fines no greater than $2,500 and a license revocation of 1 year.
- Second offense: A range of 5 to 364 days in prison, fines not exceeding $2,500 and a license revocation of 5 years.
- Third offense: A range of 10 days to 7 years in prison, fines up to $25,000 and a license revocation for a decade.
Although it's a good thing that there are severe consequences for drunk drivers, criminal penalties don't help you receive compensation for your injuries. Once in a while, drunk drivers can get out of a criminal conviction or plead guilty to a less serious charge. The St. Louis County, MO drunk driving accident lawyers of Halvorsen Klote will still be able to hold them to blame in your civil case and get you a great financial recovery for your injuries.
Below are some informational links and FAQs from your HK Law Drunk Driver Accident Lawyers in St. Louis County, MO:
- Ultimate Guide to Missouri Drunk Driving Accident Laws
- Who Is Liable in a Drunk Driving Accident?
- Can I Sue if My Loved One Was Killed by a Drunk Driver?
- Damages for Victims of Drunk Driving Accidents
- Can I Sue if I Was Hit by a Drunk Driver?
- What Do I Do if I'm Injured by a Drunk Driver?
Who is to Blame for My Injuries? | St. Louis County, MO Drunk Driving Accident Lawyers
While a drunk driver is obviously at fault for your injuries under the negligence per se doctrine, there might be other parties who are at fault. Missouri and Illinois both have what are called dram shop laws, through which your drunk driving accident lawyers can assist you in holding a restaurant, or other licensed alcohol vendor liable. Again, the rules are somewhat different in each state:
Under Missouri Revised Statute §537.053, your drunk driving accident lawyers must demonstrate two things in order to win a dram shop case:
- If the drunk driver was "visibly intoxicated," meaning they exhibited:
- Considerably uncoordinated physical action
- Considerable physical dysfunction
- If the restaurant or bartender or server knew or "should have known" that the patron was under the age of 21
Revised Statute §537.053 also stipulates that a BAC above .08% alone is not prima facie, or legally sufficient to support liability. You and your drunk driving accident lawyers need to show the bar or restaurant and their employees saw physical impairment, such as:
- Slurring when they talk
- Spilling their drink
- Knocking other people over
- Extremely impaired motor movements
Illinois's Dram Shop Law is unusual in that the person who caused you injury did not need to be "visibly intoxicated" for a bar to be to blame. 235 ILCS 5/6-21, the Illinois Liquor Control Act, allows someone hurt by a drunk driver to make a claim against a licensed liquor vendor if:
- A vendor-patron relationship existed, meaning you can prove that the vendor sold the drunk driver alcohol.
- You can prove that the alcohol sold by the bar caused the drunk driver's inebriation.
- You can demonstrate that the driver's intoxication was the proximate cause of your injuries.
Each year, the Illinois Office of Comptroller has to set liability limits for Dram Shop claims. As of January 20, 2022 those limits are:
- $77,787.30 for each person who sustained damages
- $95,073.37 per person when an injury or death led to either loss of support or loss of society.
What Compensation Can I Recover? | St. Louis County, MO Drunk Driving Accident Lawyers
The compensation you collect will depend on the seriousness of your injuries and the skill of your drunk driving accident lawyers. When you hire Halvorsen Klote, we'll fight to win you full compensation for:
Economic damages, such as:
- Lost wages for time you could not work due to your injuries
- Lost earning potential if your injuries result in an impairment that disallows you from performing the tasks of your job anymore
- Medical expenses, including
- Emergency room visits
- Subsequent doctors visits
- Physical therapy
- In-home medical care
- Assistive devices such as crutches or needed improvements to your home
- Future approximated medical costs, such as further physical therapy or medication, or replacement costs for assistive devices or joint replacements
- Transportation costs to and from medical appointments
- Property damage, for example damage to your car
Noneconomic damages, for instance:
- Pain and suffering
- Mental anguish
- Physical impairment
- Loss of capacity to enjoy life
- Loss of consortium
The St. Louis County, MO drunk driving accident lawyers of Halvorsen Klote have the experience, perseverance, and legal talent necessary to secure you the maximum financial recovery that you are entitled to.
Other cases we take in St. Louis County, MO are:
- Fatal Car Accident Lawyer
- Auto Accident Attorney
- Bike Wreck Lawyer
- What to Do After a Car Accident
- Premises Liability Attorneys
- Automobile Injury Attorney
- Motorcycle Accidents Attorney
- Lawyer for Bicycle Accident
- Pedestrian Accident Lawyer
- Injury Claim Lawyer
Call HK Law Today
St. Louis County, MO Drunk Driving Accident Lawyers | Halvorsen Klote
You should not have to pay because somebody else made a careless decision, and you do not need to navigate this trying time by yourself. The St. Louis County, MO drunk driving accident lawyers of Halvorsen Klote are kind, talented, and experienced in holding drunk drivers liable in St. Louis County, MO for their irresponsible behavior. We keep you informed throughout the duration of your case, and give you every piece of information you need to make the best decision for you and your family. Call the St. Louis County, MO drunk driving accident lawyers of HK Law today at 866-382-4167 or contact us online.